The Network Community

Just to set the record straight, a virtual community is a “REAL” community. Over the past few posts I have been giving this topic a lot of talk so I just wanted to make that clear from the get go. The question now is, how has the internet and social media impacted my community? Well, because of the internet and social media it comes as no surprise that my community has grown much larger than it ever would be without the internet. However, there is definitely a difference between my “friends” on Facebook  and my friends that I grew up with in my hometown. On the web I am a member of a large community of “weak-ties,” whereas at home I am a member of a much smaller community of “strong-ties.” These strong and weak ties are what really set my communities apart. It is not that weak-ties are better or worse than strong-ties, it is simply a difference one should understand and value. The same way one would if were asked whether he/she prefers knowing a lot of people or would rather have strong friendships with just a few people.

Leave a Reply

