The Rise Of Personalized Networking

Personalized networking has been used for quite some time, but is it a good thing? I guess the answer to that is both yes and no. For example, websites have been using personalized networking as a means to better advertise their products, and as a result I believe they’ve become quite successful. Rather than advertising to everyone, the world of advertising has become much more specific. By using cookies and other personalized networking methods, I am now bombarded with specific ads all fit for me. In my case I get endless amounts of music production and upcoming concerts ads. And I’m sure my mom get’s something weird like respiratory machines or whatever (she’s a sleep therapist). As an advertiser it makes sense to personalize your ads because you are then only selling to people that are actually interested.

On the other hand, I don’t think it’s good to completely close yourself off from the rest of the world and be 100% personalized. I feel that if I were to only talk to people I’ve pre-approved, or view things that i’m only interested in, then i will forever be stuck in here and now and will never grow. Think about it, what kind of music did you listen to 10 years ago, what about 5, last summer? What i’m getting at is that we are constantly changing and it’s because of the influence of other people and the world that this happens. And I think that it’s a good thing! Without outside influence I would never become the person I am today. I believe that it takes some getting out of your comfort zone to truly know who you are and what you want to become. So don’t close yourself off, meet a stranger and listen to some different music. It’s for the best.

One comment

  1. Hannah Dixon

    Great post Peter! I agree that convenience through personal ads and social media often creates a narrow world andwe must go and venture off when necessary. I also like that you allude to the fact that change does not have to be negative. “Change” is good when handled in a healthy and reasonable matter. This is my first time out of the U.S. and I am experiencing the type of change you discuss : )

Leave a Reply

